Do good girls play violent video games?

By most accounts I am a “good girl”. I just graduated from high school with a 4.21 GPA. A Catholic school girl who goes to Mass every Sunday, I adhere to the rules and teachings of the Church (yes, even those rules), I volunteer at my parish and homeless shelters, I almost never curse, and people who do curse tend to offend me. I obey my parents, I don’t drink or do drugs, I would rather read than watch TV, and I have only ever seen two rated R movies that I can think of.

Even so, some of my favorite games include Halo 3, Halo Wars, Gears of War, and Fallout 3. I love violent shooters. I despise guns and I believe the Second Amendment of our Constitution has been tragically misinterpreted yet my bloodlust on Xbox 360 knows no bounds. Why do I cover my eyes at the slightest hint of gore in most movies, yet I get a thrill from splattering alien and human blood alike with a well-aimed shot from a sniper rifle? Am I a product of a desensitized Generation Y, a good girl gone bad, or other?

Leave a Reply

